1. The 17th ASEAN Plus Three Summit, chaired by the President of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, H.E. U Thein Sein, was held in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar on 13 November 2014. The Summit was attended by the Heads of State/Government of ASEAN Member States, the People\'s Republic of China, Japan, and the Republic of Korea.

2. We expressed satisfaction with the progress on the implementation of the ASEAN Plus Three Cooperation Work Plan (2013-2017) and looked forward to its timely and effective implementation.

3. We underscored the importance of further intensifying and expanding the ASEAN Plus Three (APT) Cooperation for enhanced peace, security and prosperity in the East Asia region to achieve the goal of realising the ASEAN Community by 2015.

4. We reiterated that ASEAN Plus Three cooperation would remain as a main vehicle in moving forward to realise its long-term goal of an East Asia community with ASEAN as the driving force in the evolving regional architecture. We acknowledged the effective role of other ASEAN-led mechanisms in regional architecture such as the East Asia Summit (EAS), the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), ASEAN Defence Minister\'s Meeting Plus (ADMM Plus) and the ASEAN Post- Ministerial Meetings with China, Japan and ROK.

*** Please click here to download for the CHAIRMAN'S STATEMENT OF THE 17TH ASEAN PLUS THREE SUMMIT-Myanmar

Copyright © AEC Myanmar. All rights reserved 2012.