Competition Policy

ASEAN Member States have, in the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Blueprint, committed to introduce nation-wide competition policy and law (CPL) by 2015. This is to ensure a level playing field and incubate a culture of fair business competition for enhanced regional economic performance in the long run.

At present, only Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam have such laws and competition authorities. Cambodia, Malaysia, and Philippines are in the process of drafting their competition laws. The remaining countries – Brunei Darussalam, Lao PDR and Myanmar – are in the preliminary stages of nationwide CPL development and have relied on sector-level policies and regulations to achieve competition policy objectives in various domestic markets for productive factors and final or intermediate goods and services.

*** Please click here to download for the Competition Policy

Copyright © AEC Myanmar. All rights reserved 2012.